Sailaja N. Joshi

Outsourced: The South Asian Chatter

In NBC, Outsourced on October 14, 2010 at 10:33 am

So I’ve been talking a lot of about the NBC comedy Outsourced with my friends and family. The writing is poor,  the characters are, well odd (except Gupta) and plot lines are out of left field. Worst of all, the shows writers (who are Indian) seem to know nothing about Indian culture.

In short, the comedy sucks (except for Gupta).

It turns out I’m not the only Asian-Indian American blogger talking about Outsourced. Divanee, a South Asian Lifestyle blog has been running a poll to see what its readers think of Outsourced. Here are the results:

All right, so some of the South Asian population is willing to give the show a chance. I’m not surprised, since I still tune into the show, mainly to see Gupta.

There are others, like the Sandeep of BadmashACK Comics and Post-Nup fame who are not so thrilled with the show. His latest animated creation, Doubtsource, pokes fun at the abysmal writing of Outsourced.

Doubtsource TV

I took at look at the first episode and it’s not so much funny as it does an excellent job of mimicking the plot lines of Outsourced. Aside from loving the animation (I’m an Indian comic fanatic), I love the fact that Asian-Indian Americans are creating entertainment for their peers.

So, it seems the conversation has started. We Asian-Indian Americans are making some noise about how we are being portrayed on TV. Since NBC reads my blog regularly, I hope they take note of the above and make some serious changes to the writing.

Just don’t change Gupta, because let’s face it. He’s a hottie.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sailaja N. Joshi, Sailaja N. Joshi. Sailaja N. Joshi said: Outsourced: The South Asian Chatter : http://wp.me/pQvzc-4n […]

  2. I’m sorry, but I do enjoy this show! But you’re right, Gupta is a HUGE part of my motivation.

    • Hey Sarah!

      I’m so glad you’ve stumbled onto my blog! While I’m critical of the show, I do still think it has high points. Like this week’s Jolly Vindaloo Day. Not sure why, but I think its the most hilarious thing in the world!

      Welcome to the blog!

      -Sai

Leave a comment