Sailaja N. Joshi

Somebody likes Outsourced (Oh wait, That’s me!)

In NBC, Outsourced, United States on October 25, 2010 at 9:19 am

Outsourced plays well in India

So the truth is, I kinda dig Outsourced. I think the writing is still pretty bad, but for some reason, I’m drawn to it. I think it has something to do with my love for Gupta.

Anyways, it turns out that I’m not the only one who loves Outsourced since NBC has signed it on for a full season. I’m happy to see that NBC is loving them some South Asian-ness. While we in America seem to be enjoying Outsourced, it turns out that has a possible fan base a few thousand miles away, in India.

A recent New York Times article talks about how call center workers in India, find the show hilarious. While many Asian-Indian Americans (myself included) criticize the show for hyping Indian stereotypes, the real Indians seem to enjoy it and state that is well, actually really what happening in their offices. They also criticize the show for not being more knowledgeable about the culture of Indian society, especially when it comes to talking about caste.  All in all, its pretty interesting to think that this show could have a fan base thousands of miles away.

So, my readers. All, 27 of you. What do you think? Should NBC transplant their show to India? How do you feel about NBC signing it on for another season? Let’s hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

