Sailaja N. Joshi

This Blog is Outsourced.

In American Dream, India, NBC, United States on June 28, 2010 at 9:59 am

First I must apologize to my loyal readers (Hi Mom!) for my absence. I suffered a hard drive meltdown (Remember, always back up your files!) and then moved into a new house with my husband. As a result, the past month has been filled with all sorts of turmoil but never fear–I am back.

I often talk about how media and business seem to forget about us Asian-Indian Americans. Asian-Indian Americans are an untapped asset when it comes to goods and are very different from their other ethnic counterparts such as African-Americans. With that said, it looks like the people at NBC have been reading my blog and listened to my advice.

Without further ado, I present to you Outsourced. The newest addition to NBC’s Thursday Night lineup where, “…cultural differences are a novelty.”

Le Sigh.

Now, I’m not really sure how I feel about this comedy. I think its cool that some brown people are finally getting some exposure on prime time television, but at the same rate I find the comedy slightly offensive.

I mean, were there no other stereotypes for NBC to work with? How about an Indian family living in America trying to force their kid into the world of engineering when all they really want to do is be a pop star? Or an Anthropologist?

The point I suppose is that we as Indians are becoming part of the conversation. Once we become part of the conversation, we are now part of the society and that is a very good thing.

So, what are your thoughts? Is Outsourced I step towards the inclusion of Asian-Indian Americans in the media or a big flop?

  1. I find it fascinating that they made a series about this. I wonder if it’s really any good.

  2. […] ranted earlier this Summer about how the show just missed the mark in terms of inclusion. While its writers claim it is an […]

Leave a Reply

