Sailaja N. Joshi

Ideation (n): the formation of ideas or concepts.

In Consumer 2.0, Presentation of Self, Social Change, United States, Women in Society on April 22, 2010 at 5:15 pm

I’m a visual learner. I like seeing things on paper and color-coding. I’m not much of a doodler, but I do take a lot of notes, most of which do not make sense when I go back to read them.

With that said, I decided it was high time I visualized my hypothesis. Now, I’ve actually drawn this out multiple times but, now that my proposal is turned it I feel as though I have a better idea of what is going on.

Thus, my hypothesis is as follows:

Cultural Values are the lens through which we see Identity, which is the lens through which one views Ideal Beauty, which is the lens through which we see Cultural Values.

At the center of this study is the Woman’s Body because, woman are the biologically holders of culture and thus their body is critically viewed.

I’ve spent the past few days doodling and here is the visual ideation of my work:

In essence I believe:

Our culture values are influenced by society, which can be broken down into a variety of macro and micro influences. Culture values than influenced a person’s identity because it’s the framework in which we see ourselves. Subsequently, our identity is how we see and interpret ideal beauty. Each one of these forces acts on and is acted UPON by the woman’s body.

So, what do you guys think? How is the visualization? How do my fellow Consumer Anthropologist out there ideate? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Note: Graphic is via the Uniform Project’s website.
Double Note: While imitation is the greatest form of flattery please contact me before using this ideation for any of your own work.

  1. Hi Sailaja & Josh,

    I really like your conceptual framework! Very well thought out! Couldn’t ‘Ideal Beauty’ be categorized as ‘Aspirations’ or even ‘Aspriational Image’ instead. True what is defined as ‘Beauty’ is based on one’s cultural lens, but beauty is also informed by individual choice. Even the strictest of cultures have nonconformists that choose aspire to to look differently.

    John

  2. Hi John-

    Thanks so much for stopping by! Yes, that is really true! Beauty is also defined by the individual choice and can in some instances mold and shape cultural values. By having those in our society that are nonconformists, we as citizens are define was is ‘normal.’ Without the nonconformists, we’d have no idea what ‘normal’ was for us!

    Look forward to more of your comments!

    -Sai

Leave a Reply

